top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLateshia Peters

Meet Seer (they/them)


This is Capsuled a site showcasing sub-genres and subcultures of queer and/or BIPOC descent. This series will be highlighting queer and/or BIPOC creatives in a casual interviews with a focus on understanding the impact of community on marginalized identities and learning more about really cool individuals.


Today I sat down with the afro-centric, Gen Z artist for 38 minute Zoom conversation. We discussed their introduction into the art world and how meeting new people has expanded their identity. Check out their interview below and watch the full-length interview under the videos section!


Share a bit about yourself

My name is Seer. I am a part of be black and queer community identify as a black lesbian. And I'm super involved with like, just like the art, like the art scene, I guess, within those communities.



Where do you draw inspiration from?

A lot of my inspiration within my art comes from literally just like my everyday experiences. Or rarely, but sometimes when like, like experiences, experiences with people around me, I think most of my art is usually like a face or a person or being and then like a few short words. And it usually just pulls from how I'm feeling at the time. What I've experienced recently, in that day, in that year, something that I'm reflecting on, like a journal entry.



Do your forms of escapism often include community?

I think in some ways, guess. I, at the same time, though, I'm like a really independent person, I like to do things alone, but I have a really strong sense of community still, like within that. So like, I would say that my drawing is like a form of escapism, it's really personal to me, though, and I do it with, like, with myself, it's very, it comes from like, within myself, rather than, like, from a place of community. But at the same time, I share it with my community in a way that is like, it's not just about me, it's about people like me, and people that like represent me. So it has to do with community. But I also pull a lot from like my myself. Another like, I guess form of escapism for me is I like to like run or like do exercises, like worked out. And that's also like an individual thing. But at the same time, I also like to like share it with my friends and my community. And like, I don't know, always like extend that. It can be done like like, I like collaborating with people with art. I like collaborating with people when it comes to like every artistic and like you said, like, escape escapism thing that I do, but I do think a lot of it really stems from myself, just like yeah, internal things.



Have there been any subcultures in your direct environment that have made you feel more comfortable in your identities?

Yeah, I'm in my direct environment, I don't know I feel like I feel like every, every culture and every different like person with a different identity people with intersectional identities, people, like every every culture that I experience, every different kind of personal experience helps me a little bit, like be able to be more myself and like, like, like, Everything helps me everything feeds into, like, my ability to make art, my ability to literally just expose myself, when I see other people existing as themselves, really no matter if it really meshes with who I am or not. I think literally every subculture, every culture, every person has impacted me. Big, big, like individuals, I guess, or like cultures that have really stood out for me, that have like, helps me to be the person that I am now. It's a really weird in like, big range, I feel like but I would say the ones that stick out in my head are like, black, female or queer skating skaters. Like that's, that's very specific, but like, Yeah, like that was like, really big for me. Like, I know that I would not be who I am like, now if it wasn't for that scene, and like, those people like welcoming me. Black female artists in general music career like, like artistic as in like, visual art, photographers, whatever. Like, I've met so many I've been a part of like that scene, I guess in so many different ways. I think that that's like a super super huge impact on me. I think I don't know like just black people. That's like, like, if you're black and you fit into any other intersectional identity like like, other than like your like outside of your blackness. You like that? That? That's that's my biggest like inspiration I think so.



What contemporary spaces or inventions have been integral in fostering communities in your experience?

I mean, me personally, I'm from Omaha, Nebraska. So like, there's not a lot. I mean, there are people like me here, but it's really hard to, like, make connections with people out here that are similar to me. And it's really difficult to find people that are similar to me in like, like with when it comes to like blackness and like queerness and creativity, like on, like, all the aspects of like, who I am, I guess. But social media, I think, has played a huge part in like my ability to like create and build community. Most of my friends, even people that I know, here I've met through social media, it's not that easy to like, walk out, and just like meet somebody that's like me, I feel like I really have to dig in find people that mesh well with me and share a lot of the same, like, viewpoints in life, I guess. But yeah, I would say social media has played a super huge role. Twitter, Instagram. Literally everything, like any any social media platform, you can think of, even like ones that you wouldn't think of like, I found community all over the world. So I think honestly, like, that's the big the biggest and maybe like, most the only, like, the only space that I feel like I find people that really tailored to who I am as an individual.



Are there any drawbacks with making connections in an online space?

Yes. I mean, communicating when you're not like communicating and like being creative with people, when you're not in the same space is always going to, like come with a lot of like trials and you have to like really, like be cautious of like what you're doing in how you're working with people. I think like time, so time differences have always like been a big thing for me, literally just not being able to physically be there. I've done collab like collaborations with people. I've discussed collaborations with people and like, not been able to do it, just because of the specific way that like, I create art and like other people free art, sometimes doing things on the phone or on the computer. Just just don't work. You have to like meet in person. So I feel like time finances literally literally just like physical like, like your location like the distance plays a huge role in that. But I think what When it comes to like communication, it makes it a little bit easier just because you can always communicate like there's there's always just a way like there's open communications, open communication as long as you're trying. But at the same time with communication over like social media, there's always room for not being able to really understand what we're trying to say, not being able to, like, see really like exactly what we're trying to say, because you're texting, or you're just not in person you can't see like, before you motion, that's fine things, things like that.

I also feel like, like, social media leaves a lot of room for people to, like you said, like, not see the like the full picture. Like, I've recently been thinking about how social media kind of allows people to simplify, simplify, and like objectify other people. So like, if like, for Instagram, for example, like if we're thinking about a social media platform, some people might look at like, my Instagram, or somebody's Instagram and be like, that's your, that's, that's the t shirt, like, like, like, like, that's, that's them. But it's not them. Like, that's their Instagram, that's not who they are as a person, that's not their full identity. But I think social media leaves like allows people to literally just, like take that as what it is. And not think beyond like, the person that is like, behind that. Which can allow people to, I guess, form connections, it can keep people from forming connections, if, like social media, if the social media doesn't represent the person in the way that other people want them to be represented, or they don't fit the aesthetic or in like, like, if you look at somebody's social media, and you're like, oh, they don't post at all, like, oh, who are they? Are they even real? It's like, Why does social media dictate how real a person is like, the person is who they are outside of social media, their social media is just a little aspect of who they are. So I think that's also like, something that plays into it. That kind of keeps people from being able to make connections and communicate effectively. And with like, openness and honesty.



Do you consider yourself a non-conforming person? If so, has that helped you discover community or communities?

I think I would consider myself a non conforming person. Um, I feel like I've, like, I feel like all my life, I've been just like, off a little bit, like compared to everybody else. Like, I was always doing things in a very interesting way. Like, I didn't celebrate things, the way people celebrated. I did not just like all the other girls like I was very boyish. In my like, outward like expression, not necessarily like with who I was, like, how I talked, but like, with, like, how I dressed and how, I don't know, I guess people perceive me was like, I was very different. But honestly, being in Nebraska, I wouldn't necessarily say like, being a non conforming person has been extremely beneficial for where I am, like, it's kind of made me a little bit, I guess, more cautious about who I bring into my community. And like, like, specifically here, like, specifically in Omaha, Nebraska, it's made me cautious of like, who I allow close to me, who I open up to, for like safety reasons. And just to, like, protect myself from I don't know, like negative emotions and feelings about myself. But when it comes to experience this, like outside of peer, when it comes to making connections in different states, or through social media, I think being a non conforming person in Nebraska, makes me so eager to be able to see myself like be able to fit in in other areas. So it makes me extremely eager to like connect with people through social media, or like, whenever I'm not in Omaha, I'm like, Alright, so I'm like, What's up? What's up where everybody at? You know what I mean? Like, I know you're out here somewhere. I know. It's better. It's got to be something. So it really it really makes me take advantage of the times and opportunities that I have outside of.



Have you come more into yourself outside of your hometown?

I think a lot of the like, work that I've done to like, to better understand who I am has happened. Honestly, just like, throughout my entire life, like, I think, by the time I started, like, really branching out and trying to, like experience life outside of Omaha, I had a decent grasp on like, who I was, as an individual, I feel like a lot of the a lot of who I was, was already inside of me. And like, by the time I started, like, leaving, and like meeting new people, I had a really big grasp on like, at least the foundation of who I was, like, I already knew who I was. But through meeting different people, like always, you learn more about yourself, like every experience is going to teach you more about who you are and what you want, seeing how other people are living, helps me at least to better understand how I want to live. And like better understand what is available for me as like a black queer individual. And just like myself, like every aspect of who I am, artistically, all my interests. Um, so I would say yes, but I would also say, branching out didn't give me it branching out, didn't necessarily, like, show me who I was. I already, like, knew who I was, but it kind of helped me to see who I could be, like, more of who I could be. Not that I was like, okay, that's what I want to be. But it just showed me like, this is what this is, a path on my life could go down if I wanted to, or this is something that could happen that I don't want to happen, or you know what I mean? Like? Yeah.



What would be your opening track if you made a film about yourself and why?

'm really thinking about this. Like there are songs that I like but opening song to a film It's got to be something good like something smooth something or something? I'm just so bad with names of songs. And I'm like, Would it be Erykah Badu? I'm just, I'm just throwing stuff out like, gay gay. Like Amina like Mr. Moon. Something good. I love Jazmine Sullivan. But she's to it. That's not a good opening. I think I know what song but I don't know how the song goes. But it was the first song that I thought of when you asked the question. This might be the worst song ever. I'm gonna stick with it because I understand. It's really not that big of a question. I'm probably probably night song by Nina Simone. Such a beautiful song. Okay. And why? Because, I don't know. It's cinematic. It's so cinematic. And it's so smooth. I don't know. Like the the song just makes me feel so good about life. I feel like there's a better song. I know there's a better song, but I can't think of any better song right now. But yet so cinematic, and it makes me like, appreciate life so much more when I'm listening to it. Don't know I would just really like that as opening song. Just cute. Like, I'm picking up on like, out of thin air. Like there might be a better song to fit for my cinematic look good. That's a really good song in my opinion, but it just, it might not be the Yeah, I don't know. I'm just Yeah. Yeah.



In what ways do you think music can enrich individual and/or collective experience within communities?

I don't know, music is just music is I feel like just one of the biggest connect connectors like in life like, in every way it can in every single way it can enrich experiences like between people and groups. It can start a discussion, it can end the discussion like it, it can bring people together, it can allow people to have space, it can act as a filler. I don't know like music, music can literally do whatever you want it to do. I think it's one of the most important in like one of the most beautiful creations that like we've ever had as like a human species, like, whoever whoever started music. They did it like they they really did something because the our world would not be the world that it is without music music is like the basis of so many things like movies would not exist without music. My art that like the art that I make, or that a lot of artists make would not exist without music like it it's like the starting block for so many things. So I think it literally enriches experiences in every single way.



Any final messages?

Shout out that's my mom you already know shout out to my family so that's my friends. I recently watched the Kanye West documentary. And as much as I have feelings about Kanye West, and the way that he moves in life, it really made me appreciate having community and having people around you that creatively inspire you, having confidence in your work. And not only confidence, but just being able to back it up and support yourself and people around you. So I'm thankful for literally every single person that I've met that has helped with, like help foster community and my life, especially creatively. So shout out to all of them.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page